What is the FBLA?

The Brown-Forman Family Business Leadership Award honors and recognizes an individual with the highest level of family business leadership and excellence in our community. This award seeks to strengthen family businesses and empower them to become legacy family firms by highlighting examples of exemplary leadership, family unity, and civic engagement in the family business community. 

The Award is presented at the annual Family Business Summit, which is held during the second week of November, dedicated by Mayor Fischer as "Family Business Week." The recipient is recognized at a celebratory luncheon or dinner following the Summit.  Nominees will be recognized during the Summit event as well.

Selection Criteria


The winner of the Brown-Forman Family Business Leadership Award will exhibit exemplary leadership qualities such as philanthropic activity in the community, community engagement, cultivation of a family business legacy, and application of family business best practices. Above all, the recipient will be upheld as an example of leadership for others to aspire to, as they seek to cultivate and strengthen legacy family firms in our region.

Nominees are evaluated based on the following criteria; please be sure to reference these in your nomination:

  • A strong demonstrated commitment to both business and family

  • Multi-generational family business involvement

  • Strong contributions to


  • Meaningful engagement in the community

  • Innovative business practices and strategies


Requirements & Eligibility


To be eligible, a family business must be a multi-generational (least two generations are actively involved) family business headquartered in the Greater Louisville or Southern Indiana region. Membership in the FBC is not required. There is no application charge.

You can nominate yourself or any deserving family business leader by completing a simple nomination form. 

Past FBLA Winners

Each recipient is announced and recognized at our annual Summit.

2014: Mac Brown - Brown Forman

2015: John Zoeller: Zoeller Pump

2016: Bill Weyland: Weyland Ventures

2017: Condrad Daniels: HJI Supply Chain Solutions

2019: Bob Koetter: Koetter Construction 

Family Business Awards.png